Environmental Action League urges Drake to divest in fossil fuels

April 27, 2016 8:30 AM


The Drake Environmental Action League (DEAL) brought a divestment referendum to Student Senate on Thursday, urging Drake to divest in fossil fuels.

Senate passed the motion in support of the referendum.


‘The Science Guy’ comes to campus

8:00 AM


Bill Nye and first-year Noah Marsh pose for a picture with a bow tie that Marsh gifted Nye. Nye gave the 36th Bucksbaum lecture on April 14 at 7 p.m. PHOTO BY PRANEETH RAJSINGH | PHOTO EDITOR

Bill Nye and first-year Noah Marsh pose for a picture with a bow tie that Marsh gifted Nye. Nye gave the 36th Bucksbaum lecture on April 14 at 7 p.m. PHOTO BY PRANEETH RAJSINGH | PHOTO EDITOR

“Together we can, with the joy of discovery, dare I say it … change the world!”

Bill Nye’s closing statement triggered immediate applause and a standing ovation from almost 7,500 people in the Drake University Knapp Center on April 14.


Title IX investigation pushes new practices

April 25, 2016 9:30 AM


Drake has been under federal investigation by the Office for Civil Rights (OCR) since a Title IX complaint for mishandling sexual assaults on campus.


Executive Assistant to president retiring after 24 years

9:00 AM


Linda Ryan, executive assistant to the president and secretary to the university, is slowly preparing for retirement in May.

Ryan, who has been at Drake for 24 years, has served as the assistant to the last four presidents.


Office of Admission introduces test-flexible policy

8:30 AM


Drake University has made an admissions change for the 2016-17 school year that gives more leeway to prospective students during their application process.


TEDx gives space for students to spread ideas

8:00 AM


What happens when big thinkers from the Drake University and the surrounding Des Moines community are brought together to share their ideas? Juniors Kerstin Donat and Arti Patel decided to find out by creating the TEDxDrake Club.


Student Senate: 30th Session positions revealed

April 15, 2016 1:06 AM


Earlier this week, the eight victorious candidates for at-large applied for their preferred positions around the table.

The final step in becoming official members of Senate, preceding only their inauguration, slated for May 4, was to be assigned their at-large seats.

Their seats were announced early Friday morning:

Academic Affairs: Cecilia Bernard

Organizational Council: Nathan Paulsen

Student Affairs: Nina Strong

Campus Advancement: Jacqueline Heymann

Student Services: Grace Rogers

Community Outreach: Anna Gleason

Health and Safety: Russell White

Facilities and Technology: Joseph Herba

UNITY Roundtable will be announcing the nominee for the second Equity and Inclusion senator Monday, who will serve alongside already-elected Kenia Calderon.

The 30th session’s first meeting will take place Thursday, May 5 at 9 p.m. in Cowles Library room 201.

LEAD Week to help grow five-year-old program

April 13, 2016 9:36 PM


The Student Leadership Advisory Panel (SLAP) hosted the first Leadership Education and Development (LEAD) Week from April 4 to 9 in order to raise student awareness of the LEAD program at Drake.

“This is the first time that we’ve done LEAD week,” said Hannah Bruneman, a senior in the LEAD program. “We wanted something that could involve the entire student body, not just LEAD students.”


DU Spoken Word hosts first annual event

9:25 PM


One of the newest organizations on Drake’s campus held its first annual event Friday night on Pomerantz Stage.

DU Spoken Word’s first poetry slam saw 13 competitors perform 15 original poems in front of their peers and guests.


Relay for Life raises over $21,000 for cancer society

9:18 PM


Drake’s Colleges Against Cancer organization raised close to $21,000 in donations for the American Cancer Society at its Relay for Life event on Friday.

Students and community members raised money and created teams to contribute to the fight against cancer. The teams walked for the cause and competed in various tournaments.


Student Senate general election results

12:30 AM

Results for the eight at-large seats and each academic senator were announced Tuesday night outside the C-store on campus.

Academic Senators:

Pharmacy and Health Sciences: Alexander Maciejewski

College of Business and Public Administration: Ava Whitthauer

School of Education: Andrew Treiber

School of Journalism and Mass Communication: Beth LeValley

Equity & Inclusion: Kenia Calderon

Updated 4/15 1:07 a.m.: Benjamin Morrett has won the run-off election for College of Arts & Sciences senator.


These candidates were elected to a seat around the Senate table and are listed in order of number of votes received:


Cecilia Bernard

Nathan Paulsen

Jacqueline Heymann

Russell White

Joseph Herba

Anna Gleason

Nina Hiller-Strong

Grace Rogers